Market Manipulation. Search

SEC v. Sean Wygovsky and Christopher Matthaei (front running, 2023)

Settled

Machine-extracted, pending human review. The structured fields on this page were parsed automatically from the regulator's own release, linked below. Read the primary document before relying on any figure here, and tell us if something is wrong.

In 2023, the Securities and Exchange Commission settled an action with Sean Wygovsky and Christopher Matthaei, alleging conduct this library classifies as front running and insider trading. The release does not state a monetary figure that we were able to extract. A parallel criminal matter is referenced in the release.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEC
Release number LR-25683
Date filed 2023-03-31
Date resolved 2023-03-31
Court U.S. District Court, District of New Jersey
Status settled
Criminal parallel Yes
Bars imposed officer-and-director bar
Defendants Sean Wygovsky (individual) ; Christopher Matthaei (individual)
Techniques Front running , Insider trading

What was ordered

Civil penalty
Disgorgement
Prejudgment interest
Total relief
Alleged gain
$3.4m

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

the Securities and Exchange Commission announced this matter on March 31, 2023 as release LR-25683. The respondents named are Sean Wygovsky and Christopher Matthaei (2 individuals, 0 entities). The action was brought in the U.S. District Court, District of New Jersey.

This library tags the matter as front running and insider trading, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

Non-monetary relief recorded: officer-and-director bar.

The release references a parallel criminal proceeding. Where a criminal case exists, the civil and criminal outcomes are recorded separately, because they resolve on different standards of proof.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with 2 techniques in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2023-03-31 Litigation release published

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is a work of the United States government and is not subject to copyright. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
CFTC v. Block Trade Broker (front running, 2018) CFTC 2018-09-28 Front Running , Insider Trading filed
SEC v. Mizuho Securities USA LLC (front running, 2018) SEC 2018-07-23 Front Running , Insider Trading +1 settled
SEC v. Deutsche Bank Securities Inc. (front running, 2016) SEC 2016-10-12 Front Running , Insider Trading +1 $100k judgment
CFTC v. Arya Motazedi (front running, 2015) CFTC 2015-12-03 Front Running , Insider Trading $100k judgment
SEC v. Trijya Vakil and Neeraj Visen (insider trading, 2026) SEC 2026-09-04 Insider Trading judgment
CFTC v. Gabriel Perez (insider trading, 2026) CFTC 2026-08-28 Insider Trading $65k judgment

Record added September 8, 2026. submit a correction.