Market Manipulation. Search

SEC v. Rudden, et al. (ponzi schemes, 2018)

Settled

Checked against the primary document on October 4, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, with sampled and disputed records read a second time. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (sec-rudden-et-al-ponzi-schemes-2018) by email

In July 2018 the SEC sued Daniel Rudden and his Financial Visions companies over an alleged Ponzi scheme that took in more than 100 investors. On 15 October 2020 the District of Colorado entered a consent judgment with an injunction and $6,511,721 in disgorgement, offset by criminal restitution; Rudden had been sentenced to 121 months in June 2019.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEC
Release number LR-24216
Date filed 2018-07-26
Date resolved 2020-10-15
Status settled
Criminal parallel Yes: sentenced (Rudden (principal))
Sentence 10y 1m
Bars imposed conduct-based injunction
Defendants Daniel B. Rudden (individual) ; Financial Visions companies (entity)
Cited as charged or alleged Exchange Act s.10(b) and Rule 10b-5 ; Securities Act s.17(a) (statutes and rules cited in the document; not a finding that they were violated)
Techniques Ponzi schemes

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
$6.5m
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
$6.5m
Alleged gain
—

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

The SEC announced the case on July 26, 2018 (LR-24216); the complaint was filed under seal in the District of Colorado. It alleges that since about 2010 Rudden paid interest and redemptions with new investors' money, hid the companies' real condition, and promised returns of 12% or more. Three entities were named as relief defendants. The complaint asked for injunctions, disgorgement and penalties; the outcome is described below.

The record named the defendant as "Rudden, et al." and showed status unknown; the principal and his companies are now named and the status is filed.

This library tags the matter as ponzi schemes because the document describes it as a scheme paying earlier investors with later investors' money. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

A later SEC litigation release shows the case ended in a consent judgment. On 15 October 2020 the District of Colorado entered a final consent judgment against Rudden and the Financial Visions companies, permanently enjoining them from antifraud violations and ordering disgorgement of $6,511,721, to be offset by the restitution ordered in the related criminal case. The release says Rudden was sentenced in June 2019 to 121 months in prison and ordered to pay nearly $20 million in restitution, and that his frozen assets may be applied to that restitution. It does not state a civil penalty or prejudgment interest, or whether the defendants admitted the allegations.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2018-07-26 Litigation release published
  2. 2020-10-15 Final consent judgment entered: injunction and $6,511,721 disgorgement, offset by criminal restitution

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is a work of the United States government and is not subject to copyright. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Same matter

The library links these 2 records because they appear to concern one matter: the same lead defendant, an overlapping technique tag and close filing dates, or a shared court docket or a release that cites the other. Records are listed by date filed.

Date filed Agency Record Status
2018-07-26 SEC SEC v. Rudden, et al. (ponzi schemes, 2018)(this record) Settled
2020-10-16 SEC SEC v. Rudden, et al. (ponzi schemes, 2020) Judgment entered

This grouping is the library's, made by matching names, techniques, dates and citations when the site is built. It is not the regulator's or a court's determination that the records are one case, and it errs towards missing a link rather than making a false one.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Mark D. Hanf and Hoai-Nam Chu Phan (ponzi schemes, 2026) SEC 2026-09-04 Ponzi Schemes — settled
SEC v. Leor Moshe, Jacob Goldman, Isaac Odes (ponzi schemes, 2026) SEC 2026-08-13 Ponzi Schemes — filed
CFTC v. Goliath Ventures, Inc. and Christopher Delgado (ponzi schemes, 2026) CFTC 2026-08-11 Ponzi Schemes — filed
SEC v. Goliath Ventures, Inc. and Christopher A. Delgado (ponzi schemes, 2026) SEC 2026-08-11 Ponzi Schemes — filed
SEC v. Aras Investment Business Group S.A.P.I. de C.V. and others (ponzi schemes, 2026) SEC 2026-07-24 Ponzi Schemes $449k judgment
CFTC v. Trevor L. Vernon and Argent Capital Management LLC (ponzi schemes, 2026) CFTC 2026-07-07 Ponzi Schemes — filed

Record added September 10, 2026. submit a correction.