Market Manipulation. Search

SEC v. Michael E. Cone, et al (boiler rooms, 2018)

Settled

Checked against the primary document on October 4, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, with sampled and disputed records read a second time. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (sec-michael-e-cone-et-al-boiler-rooms-2018) by email

In 2018 the SEC sued Michael E. Cone and Greenview Investment Partners, L.P. in the Northern District of Texas alongside a parallel criminal case. On February 6, 2020 the court entered a consent final judgment against Cone ordering $3,369,425 in disgorgement, jointly with Greenview, plus $309,271.50 in interest, treated as satisfied by his criminal restitution order, and an officer-and-director bar.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEC
Release number LR-24342
Date filed 2018-11-08
Date resolved 2020-02-06
Court U.S. District Court, Northern District of Texas
Status settled
Criminal parallel Yes: charged (Cone)
Bars imposed officer-and-director bar
Defendants Michael E. Cone (individual) ; Greenview Investment Partners L.P. (entity)
Cited as charged or alleged Exchange Act s.10(b) and Rule 10b-5 ; Securities Act s.5 (statutes and rules cited in the document; not a finding that they were violated)
Techniques Boiler rooms

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
$3.4m
Prejudgment interest
$309k
Total relief
$3.7m
Alleged gain
—

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

the Securities and Exchange Commission announced this matter on November 8, 2018 as release LR-24342. The respondents named are Michael E. Cone, et al (1 individual, 0 entities).

This library tags the matter as boiler rooms, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

Non-monetary relief recorded: officer-and-director bar.

The release references a parallel criminal proceeding. Where a criminal case exists, the civil and criminal outcomes are recorded separately, because they resolve on different standards of proof.

The court entered a final judgment against Cone on February 6, 2020, on his consent and without findings. It permanently enjoins him, bars him from serving as an officer or director of a public company, and holds him jointly and severally liable with Greenview Investment Partners for disgorgement of $3,369,425 plus prejudgment interest of $309,271.50, a total of $3,678,696.50. That obligation is deemed satisfied by the restitution order in the parallel criminal case, United States v. Cone (C.D. Cal.), so the figures are not an additional payment. The judgment does not state a civil penalty or Cone's criminal sentence. How the case against Greenview ended was not read separately.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2018-11-08 Litigation release published
  2. 2020-02-06 Consent final judgment against Michael Cone entered

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is a work of the United States government and is not subject to copyright. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Andrew Spaventa and others (boiler rooms, 2026) SEC 2026-08-17 Boiler Rooms — filed
SEC v. Timothy Page, Trevor Page and others (boiler rooms, 2024) SEC 2024-11-20 Boiler Rooms , Undisclosed Control Blocks $7.7m judgment
SEC v. Mario Gogliormella, Steven Lacaj, and Karim Ibrahim a/k/a/ Chris Hayes (boiler rooms, 2024) SEC 2024-06-12 Boiler Rooms — filed
SEC v. Legend Venture Partners LLC (boiler rooms, 2023) SEC 2023-07-11 Boiler Rooms — filed
SEC v. Vuuzle Media Corp., Vuuzle Media Corp. Limited, Ronald Shane Flynn, and Richard Marchitto (boiler rooms, 2023) SEC 2023-06-27 Boiler Rooms $25.8m judgment
SEC v. Matthew Nicosia, William Reininger, Fabrizio Di Carlo, and Ronald Touchard (boiler rooms, 2023) SEC 2023-04-10 Boiler Rooms $223k judgment

Record added September 10, 2026. submit a correction.