Market Manipulation. Search

SEC v. Kendricks, et al. (insider trading, 2018)

Settled

Checked against the primary document on October 4, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, with sampled and disputed records read a second time. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (sec-kendricks-et-al-insider-trading-2018) by email

In August 2018 the SEC charged football player Mychal Kendricks and investment-bank analyst Damilare Sonoiki with insider trading on merger tips. Kendricks consented to a judgment in March 2020 with $1,188,075 in disgorgement, deemed satisfied by criminal forfeiture, and Sonoiki consented in August 2022 to an injunction and a $15,000 penalty plus an SEC bar.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEC
Release number LR-24252
Date filed 2018-08-30
Date resolved 2022-08-30
Status settled
Criminal parallel Yes: sentenced (Sonoiki (Kendricks pleaded guilty; his sentence is not stated))
Bars imposed industry-wide association bar, penny stock bar, conduct-based injunction
Defendants Mychal Kendricks (individual) ; Damilare Sonoiki (individual)
Cited as charged or alleged Exchange Act s.10(b) and Rule 10b-5 ; Exchange Act s.14(e) and Rule 14e-3 (statutes and rules cited in the document; not a finding that they were violated)
Techniques Insider trading

What was ordered

Civil penalty
$15k
Disgorgement
$1.2m
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
$1.2m
Alleged gain
$1.2m

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

The SEC alleged that Sonoiki gave Kendricks confidential merger information, that Kendricks bought securities of targets and sold after announcements, once for a return of nearly 400 percent in two weeks, and that he rewarded Sonoiki with cash, tickets and a role in a music video shoot. The SEC charged both under Sections 10(b) and 14(e) and sought disgorgement, interest, penalties and injunctions.

Two later SEC litigation releases show both named defendants settled. On 18 March 2020 the Eastern District of Pennsylvania entered a consent judgment against Kendricks enjoining him and ordering disgorgement of $1,188,075, deemed satisfied by a forfeiture order in his criminal case, where he had pleaded guilty. On 30 August 2022 the court entered a consent judgment against Sonoiki enjoining him and ordering a $15,000 civil penalty. On 19 September 2022 the Commission, with his consent, barred Sonoiki from the securities industry and from penny stock offerings. Both consented without admitting or denying the allegations, according to the 2022 release for Sonoiki and the 2020 release for Kendricks. Sonoiki served one month in prison. The releases do not give a sentence for Kendricks, so none is recorded. Related defendants Hamed Ettu and Mark Ramsey in separate actions are not part of this record.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2018-08-30 Litigation release published
  2. 2020-03-18 Consent judgment entered against Kendricks ($1,188,075 disgorgement, deemed satisfied by forfeiture)
  3. 2022-08-30 Consent judgment entered against Sonoiki ($15,000 penalty); SEC bar follows on 19 September 2022

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is a work of the United States government and is not subject to copyright. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Same matter

The library links these 3 records because they appear to concern one matter: the same lead defendant, an overlapping technique tag and close filing dates, or a shared court docket or a release that cites the other. Records are listed by date filed.

Date filed Agency Record Status
2018-08-30 SEC SEC v. Kendricks, et al. (insider trading, 2018)(this record) Settled
2020-03-23 SEC SEC v. Mychal Kendricks and Hamed A. Ettu (insider trading, 2020) Judgment entered
2022-09-27 SEC SEC v. Damilare Sonoiki and Mark Wayne Ramsey (insider trading, 2022) Judgment entered

This grouping is the library's, made by matching names, techniques, dates and citations when the site is built. It is not the regulator's or a court's determination that the records are one case, and it errs towards missing a link rather than making a false one.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Trijya Vakil and Neeraj Visen (insider trading, 2026) SEC 2026-09-04 Insider Trading $109k settled
CFTC v. Gabriel Perez (insider trading, 2026) CFTC 2026-08-28 Insider Trading $65k judgment
SEC v. Gavin Wolfe and others (insider trading, 2026) SEC 2026-08-21 Insider Trading — filed
SEC v. Jesse R. Mitchell (insider trading, 2026) SEC 2026-08-21 Insider Trading — filed
SEBI v. Arun Kumar Somani and others (insider trading review, Indian Oil Corporation, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-13 Insider Trading — dismissed
SEC v. Benjamin Tesfaye (insider trading, 2026) SEC 2026-08-11 Insider Trading $18.7k settled

Record added September 10, 2026. submit a correction.