Market Manipulation. Search

SEC v. Gotbit Consulting LLC a/k/a Gotbit Hedge Fund and Fedor Kedrov (paid crypto market making, 2024)

Status unknown

Machine-extracted, pending human review. The structured fields on this page were parsed automatically from the regulator's own release, linked below. Read the primary document before relying on any figure here, and tell us if something is wrong.

In 2024, the Securities and Exchange Commission brought an action against Gotbit Consulting LLC a/k/a Gotbit Hedge Fund and Fedor Kedrov, alleging conduct this library classifies as paid crypto market making and wash trading. The release does not state a monetary figure that we were able to extract. A parallel criminal matter is referenced in the release.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEC
Release number LR-26156
Date filed 2024-10-09
Court U.S. District Court, District of Massachusetts
Status unknown
Criminal parallel Yes
Bars imposed conduct-based injunction
Defendants Gotbit Consulting LLC a/k/a Gotbit Hedge Fund (entity) ; Fedor Kedrov (individual)
Techniques Paid crypto market making , Wash trading

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
—
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
—
Alleged gain
$1m

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

the Securities and Exchange Commission filed this matter on October 9, 2024; the release announcing it is dated October 15, 2024 (release LR-26156). The respondents named are Gotbit Consulting LLC a/k/a Gotbit Hedge Fund and Fedor Kedrov (1 individual, 1 entity). The action was brought in the U.S. District Court, District of Massachusetts.

This library tags the matter as paid crypto market making and wash trading, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

Non-monetary relief recorded: conduct-based injunction.

The release references a parallel criminal proceeding. Where a criminal case exists, the civil and criminal outcomes are recorded separately, because they resolve on different standards of proof.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with 2 techniques in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2024-10-09 Complaint filed (D. Mass.)
  2. 2024-10-15 Litigation release published

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is a work of the United States government and is not subject to copyright. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Same matter

The library links these 2 records because they appear to concern one matter: the same lead defendant, an overlapping technique tag and close filing dates, or a shared court docket or a release that cites the other. Records are listed by date filed.

Date filed Agency Record Status
2024-10-09 SEC SEC v. Gotbit Consulting LLC a/k/a Gotbit Hedge Fund and Fedor Kedrov (paid crypto market making, 2024)(this record) Status unknown
2026-08-03 SEC SEC v. Gotbit Consulting LLC a/k/a Gotbit Hedge Fund and Fedor Kedrov (paid crypto market making, 2026) Judgment entered

This grouping is the library's, made by matching names, techniques, dates and citations when the site is built. It is not the regulator's or a court's determination that the records are one case, and it errs towards missing a link rather than making a false one.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Gotbit Consulting LLC a/k/a Gotbit Hedge Fund and Fedor Kedrov (paid crypto market making, 2026) SEC 2026-08-03 Paid Crypto Market Making , Wash Trading — judgment
SEC v. ZM Quant Investment Ltd., Baijun Ou a/k/a Eric Ou, and Ruiqi Lau a/k/a Ricky Liu (paid crypto market making, 2024) SEC 2024-10-09 Paid Crypto Market Making , Wash Trading — unknown
SEC v. Canaccord Genuity LLC (marking the close, 2026) SEC 2026-03-06 Marking The Close , Marking The Open +2 — settled
SEC v. Justin Sun, Tron Foundation Limited, BitTorrent Foundation Ltd., Rainberry, Inc., and DeAndre Cortez Way (paid stock promotion, 2026) SEC 2026-03-05 Paid Stock Promotion , Wash Trading $10m judgment
CFTC v. unnamed respondents (insider trading, 2026) CFTC 2026-02-25 Insider Trading , Wash Trading — settled
CFTC v. Gregg Smith (spoofing, 2026) CFTC 2026-01-16 Spoofing , Wash Trading $200k judgment

Record added September 20, 2026. submit a correction.