Market Manipulation. Search

SEBI v. Rainbow Papers Ltd. and others (GDR issue disclosures, 2022)

Judgment entered

Checked against the primary document on October 8, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, in a single reading of the order; an independent second reading of 60 SEBI records agreed on every field for 56, the four misses being penalty amounts; a later sample of 50 of the SEBI records added on 9 October agreed on every field for 46. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (sebi-59363-misleading-issuer-disclosure-2022) by email

On 27 May 2022 a SEBI adjudicating officer penalised four people, Ajay and Sangeeta Goenka, Arun Panchariya and Mukesh Chauradiya, a combined Rs 60 lakh over a US$27.02 million GDR issue by Rainbow Papers funded through a loan secured on the proceeds. The proceedings against one director abated on his death.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEBI (India)
Date filed 2022-05-27
Date resolved 2022-05-27
Court SEBI adjudicating officer
Status judgment
Asset class equities
Instruments Global Depository Receipts of Rainbow Papers Ltd
Venue NSE, BSE
Criminal parallel No
Defendants Rainbow Papers Ltd. (entity) ; Ajay Goenka (individual) ; Radheshyam Goenka (individual) ; Sangeeta Goenka (individual) ; Arun Panchariya (individual) ; Mukesh Chauradiya (individual)
Techniques Misleading issuer disclosure

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
—
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
—
Alleged gain
—
Penalty as published
6m INR

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars. This regulator states penalties in INR. The figure is recorded as published and is not converted, so it does not appear in the USD totals or medians used elsewhere on this site.

What is alleged to have happened

A SEBI adjudicating officer, G Ramar, decided the matter on 27 May 2022. The six noticees were Rainbow Papers Ltd (RPL), listed on NSE and BSE, its directors Ajay Goenka, Radheshyam Goenka and Sangeeta Goenka, and Arun Panchariya and Mukesh Chauradiya, who were tied to the GDR subscriber. SEBI had investigated RPL's global depository receipt issue between January and February 2010.

The order records that RPL issued about 1.02 million GDRs worth US$27.02 million on 27 January 2010, subscribed by a single entity, Vintage FZE. Vintage paid for them with a loan from EURAM Bank, and Ajay Goenka signed a pledge agreement on the same day as the loan agreement that pledged the GDR proceeds as security for the loan. Board resolutions had authorised the account and its use as security. SEBI alleged that the scheme was therefore a fraud, because the company itself backed the subscription, that this was not disclosed, and that investors were left unaware of how the issue was funded.

The officer found the scheme fraudulent under section 12A and Regulations 3 and 4(1) of the 2003 fraudulent and unfair trade practices regulations, and noted that Vintage, Mr Panchariya and Mr Chauradiya had been subject to action in similar GDR schemes before. Radheshyam Goenka had died in 2010 and the proceedings against him stood abated.

The penalties under section 15HA were Rs 20 lakh each on Ajay Goenka and Arun Panchariya and Rs 10 lakh each on Sangeeta Goenka and Mukesh Chauradiya, a total of Rs 60 lakh, payable within 45 days. The operative table lists no penalty on RPL itself.

The record does not show how the money from the GDRs was finally used, whether the penalties were appealed or paid, or whether further action followed.

This library tags the matter as misleading issuer disclosure. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the order.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2022-05-27 SEBI order

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEBI v. Lloyds Enterprises Limited and others (advances and financial statements, settlement, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-09-29 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — settled
SEBI v. Omaxe Limited and others (minimum public shareholding via company funds, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-09-24 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — judgment
SEBI v. Tarapur Transformers Limited and others (diverted funds and inflated receivables, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-31 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — judgment
SEBI v. Trafiksol ITS Technologies Limited and others (misleading IPO prospectus, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-28 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — judgment
SEBI v. Debock Industries Limited and others (fictitious issues, inflated sales and diverted rights-issue funds, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-28 Misleading Issuer Disclosure , Price Manipulation — judgment
SEBI v. Varanium Cloud Limited and others (false accounts, diverted IPO funds and share sales, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-25 Misleading Issuer Disclosure , Price Manipulation — judgment

Record added October 8, 2026. submit a correction.