Market Manipulation. Search

SEBI v. Kalahridhaan Trendz Limited and others (false corporate announcements, 2026)

Judgment entered

Checked against the primary document on October 8, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, in a single reading of the order; an independent second reading of 60 SEBI records agreed on every field for 56, the four misses being penalty amounts. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (sebi-103251-misleading-issuer-disclosure-2026) by email

A SEBI whole-time member ruled in July 2026 that Kalahridhaan Trendz and its managing director made false and misleading announcements, including a large buy order from a fictitious Bangladeshi buyer, and that the company did not disclose a bank default. The final order restrains the company and three directors and imposes penalties totalling Rs 1 crore.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEBI (India)
Date filed 2026-07-30
Date resolved 2026-07-30
Court SEBI whole-time member
Status judgment
Asset class equities
Instruments Kalahridhaan Trendz Limited shares
Venue NSE
Criminal parallel No
Bars imposed Company and managing director restrained from the securities market for 2 years, Two other directors restrained for 1 year
Defendants Kalahridhaan Trendz Limited (entity) ; Niranjan D Agarwal (individual) ; Aditya N Agarwal (individual) ; Sunitadevi Niranjan Agarwal (individual)
Techniques Misleading issuer disclosure , Fake press releases

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
—
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
—
Alleged gain
—
Penalty as published
10m INR

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars. This regulator states penalties in INR. The figure is recorded as published and is not converted, so it does not appear in the USD totals or medians used elsewhere on this site.

What is alleged to have happened

The final order of 30 July 2026 was made by a SEBI whole-time member and follows an interim order and show-cause notice of 10 February 2025 that had already restrained the noticees. The four noticees are Kalahridhaan Trendz Limited (KTL), a company listed on the NSE; its managing director Niranjan D Agarwal; his son Aditya N Agarwal, a whole-time director; and his wife Sunitadevi Niranjan Agarwal, a non-executive director.

SEBI alleged that KTL did not disclose its default on dues to HDFC Bank, made false and misleading announcements about expansion, profitability and a large buy order from a fictitious entity in Bangladesh to influence the price and volume of its shares, did not appoint a compliance officer, and misleadingly announced an independent director. It alleged that the managing director was responsible for the disclosures and that the two other directors failed to oversee them, in breach of section 12A of the SEBI Act, the PFUTP Regulations and the listing regulations.

The final order treats the conduct as serious. It rejects defences of procedural lapse and of being a victim of misrepresentation by third parties, and it finds that the noticees acted surreptitiously in disregard of the regulations in ways harmful to investors. It also takes into account that the noticees had been restrained under the interim order for more than a year, and advises NSE to consider action for continuing non-compliance, including delisting if warranted.

The directions restrain KTL and Mr Niranjan Agarwal for two years and the other two directors for one year. KTL and Mr Niranjan Agarwal are each penalised Rs 30 lakh under section 15HA and Rs 10 lakh under section 15HB, and Mr Aditya Agarwal and Ms Sunitadevi Agarwal Rs 10 lakh each under section 15HB. The total is Rs 1 crore.

The record does not show an appeal, payment, or the extent of investor losses. It describes no criminal case.

This library tags the matter as misleading issuer disclosure and false announcements. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the order.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with 2 techniques in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2026-07-30 SEBI final order with restraints and penalties

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEBI v. Lloyds Enterprises Limited and others (advances and financial statements, settlement, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-09-29 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — settled
SEBI v. Omaxe Limited and others (minimum public shareholding via company funds, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-09-24 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — judgment
SEBI v. Tarapur Transformers Limited and others (diverted funds and inflated receivables, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-31 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — judgment
SEBI v. Trafiksol ITS Technologies Limited and others (misleading IPO prospectus, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-28 Misleading Issuer Disclosure — judgment
SEBI v. Debock Industries Limited and others (fictitious issues, inflated sales and diverted rights-issue funds, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-28 Misleading Issuer Disclosure , Price Manipulation — judgment
SEBI v. Varanium Cloud Limited and others (false accounts, diverted IPO funds and share sales, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-25 Misleading Issuer Disclosure , Price Manipulation — judgment

Record added October 8, 2026. submit a correction.