Market Manipulation. Search

SEC v. Wells Real Estate Investment, LLC, Janalie C. Joseph a/k/a Janalie C. Bingham, and Jean Joseph, et al. (ponzi schemes, 2024)

Status unknown

Machine-extracted, pending human review. The structured fields on this page were parsed automatically from the regulator's own release, linked below. Read the primary document before relying on any figure here, and tell us if something is wrong.

In 2024, the Securities and Exchange Commission brought an action against Wells Real Estate Investment, LLC, Janalie C. Joseph a/k/a Janalie C. Bingham, and Jean Joseph, et al., alleging conduct this library classifies as ponzi schemes and undisclosed control blocks. The release does not state a monetary figure that we were able to extract.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEC
Release number LR-26079
Date filed 2024-08-20
Court U.S. District Court, Southern District of Florida
Status unknown
Criminal parallel No
Bars imposed officer-and-director bar
Defendants Wells Real Estate Investment, LLC, Janalie C. Joseph a/k/a Janalie C. Bingham, (entity) ; Jean Joseph, et al. (individual)
Techniques Ponzi schemes , Undisclosed control blocks

What was ordered

Civil penalty
Disgorgement
Prejudgment interest
Total relief
Alleged gain

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

the Securities and Exchange Commission announced this matter on August 20, 2024 as release LR-26079. The respondents named are Wells Real Estate Investment, LLC, Janalie C. Joseph a/k/a Janalie C. Bingham, and Jean Joseph, et al. (1 individual, 1 entity). The action was brought in the U.S. District Court, Southern District of Florida.

This library tags the matter as ponzi schemes and undisclosed control blocks, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

Non-monetary relief recorded: officer-and-director bar.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with 2 techniques in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2024-08-20 Litigation release published

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is a work of the United States government and is not subject to copyright. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Eric J. "EJ" Dalius et al. (ponzi schemes, 2019) SEC 2019-10-15 Ponzi Schemes , Undisclosed Control Blocks unknown
SEC v. Mark D. Hanf and Hoai-Nam Chu Phan a/k/a Nam Phan (ponzi schemes, 2026) SEC 2026-09-04 Ponzi Schemes settled
SEC v. David T. Gilchrist, Christopher Aaron Novinger, Rebecca Novinger (ponzi schemes, 2026) SEC 2026-09-01 Ponzi Schemes unknown
SEC v. Mordechai Haim Ferder and others (ponzi schemes, 2026) SEC 2026-09-01 Ponzi Schemes unknown
SEC v. Leor Moshe, Jacob Goldman, Isaac Odes (ponzi schemes, 2026) SEC 2026-08-13 Ponzi Schemes filed
CFTC v. Goliath Ventures Inc. and CEO (ponzi schemes, 2026) CFTC 2026-08-11 Ponzi Schemes filed

Record added September 8, 2026. submit a correction.