Market Manipulation. Search

SEC v. Sunchip Technology, Inc. (undisclosed control blocks, 2014)

Judgment entered

Checked against the primary document on October 3, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, with sampled and disputed records read a second time. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (sec-sunchip-technology-inc-undisclosed-control-blocks-2014) by email

In June 2014 an SEC administrative law judge suspended the effectiveness of Sunchip Technology, Inc.'s registration statement by default, finding it falsely presented a sole officer and director who in fact had no role, with the company actually controlled by undisclosed persons.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEC
Release number 3-15903
Date filed 2014-06-16
Date resolved 2014-06-16
Court SEC administrative law judge
Status judgment
Criminal parallel No
Defendants Sunchip Technology, Inc. (entity)
Techniques Undisclosed control blocks

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
—
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
—
Alleged gain
—

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

An SEC administrative law judge issued this initial decision by default on June 16, 2014, after Sunchip did not answer the order instituting proceedings that began the case on June 3, 2014. Because Sunchip was in default, the allegations were taken as true.

The decision concerns the Form S-1 that Sunchip filed on September 26, 2013undefined to register shares in a $30,000 offering. It finds that the statement misdescribed the sole officer and director's role, time commitment, experience and capital contribution, and that the company was controlled by undisclosed persons, in effect a blank-check shell.

This library tags the matter as undisclosed control blocks because the decision finds that the company was controlled by persons the registration statement did not disclose. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

The sanction was a stop order under Section 8(d) of the Securities Act suspending the registration statement. No money was ordered.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2014-06-16 Initial decision

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is a work of the United States government and is not subject to copyright. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Airborne Wireless Network and others (pump and dump, 2025) SEC 2025-02-07 Pump And Dump , Undisclosed Control Blocks $22.6m judgment
SEC v. Timothy Page, Trevor Page and others (boiler rooms, 2024) SEC 2024-11-20 Boiler Rooms , Undisclosed Control Blocks $7.7m judgment
SEC v. Brian Quinn and David Skriloff (Environmental Packaging, 2024) SEC 2024-10-18 Reverse Merger Schemes , Undisclosed Control Blocks $461k judgment
SEC v. Kevan Casey, Adrian James, Jonathan Friedlander and Robert Wheat (pump and dump, 2024) SEC 2024-08-09 Pump And Dump , Undisclosed Control Blocks — filed
SEBI v. Vijay Mallya (routing of funds through UBS accounts into group-company shares, 2024) SEBI (India) 2024-07-26 Undisclosed Control Blocks — judgment
SEC v. Giguiere et al. (undisclosed control blocks, 2024) SEC 2024-06-13 Undisclosed Control Blocks , Matched Orders +1 $875k judgment

Record added September 10, 2026. submit a correction.