SEC v. Matthew Panuwat (insider trading, 2021)
Alleged — pending
These are allegations. SEC has filed an action; nothing in it has been proven, and the respondents have not been found liable. Everything described on this page is what the regulator alleges, not what a court has found. See our editorial policy.
Checked against the primary document on October 4, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, with sampled and disputed records read a second time. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.
In 2021, the Securities and Exchange Commission brought an action against Matthew Panuwat, alleging conduct this library classifies as insider trading. No monetary relief has been recorded at this stage; the matter is an allegation and remains unproven.
The record
| Agency | SEC |
|---|---|
| Release number | LR-25170 |
| Date filed | 2021-08-17 |
| Court | U.S. District Court, Northern District of California |
| Status | filed |
| Criminal parallel | No |
| Bars imposed | officer-and-director bar |
| Defendants | Matthew Panuwat |
| Cited as charged or alleged | Exchange Act s.10(b) and Rule 10b-5 |
| Techniques | Insider trading |
What was ordered
- Civil penalty
- —
- Disgorgement
- —
- Prejudgment interest
- —
- Total relief
- —
- Alleged gain
- —
What is alleged to have happened
the Securities and Exchange Commission announced this matter on August 17, 2021 as release LR-25170. The respondents named are Matthew Panuwat (1 individual, 0 entities). The action was brought in the U.S. District Court, Northern District of California.
This library tags the matter as insider trading, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.
Non-monetary relief recorded: officer-and-director bar.
Later development: SEC release LR-25970 (April 8, 2024) reports that after an eight-day jury trial in the Northern District of California the jury returned a verdict on April 5, 2024 for the SEC, finding Panuwat liable for insider trading. The release does not state remedies or a final judgment, and none was found, so the status stays filed. A separate record in this library covers the verdict release. Checked on 2026-10-04: no final outcome for the matter as a whole was found on the SEC litigation release or administrative proceeding pages, so the status stays filed.
What technique is this, and how does it work?
This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.
- Insider trading — see how it works, what statute it engages, and every other action tagged the same way.
Timeline
- 2021-08-17 Litigation release published
- 2024-04-05 Jury verdict for the SEC after eight-day trial (LR-25970); remedies not stated
Primary documents
Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.
Same matter
The library links these 2 records because they appear to concern one matter: the same lead defendant, an overlapping technique tag and close filing dates, or a shared court docket or a release that cites the other. Records are listed by date filed.
| Date filed | Agency | Record | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021-08-17 | SEC | SEC v. Matthew Panuwat (insider trading, 2021) | Alleged — pending |
| 2024-04-08 | SEC | SEC v. Matthew Panuwat (insider trading, 2024) | Judgment entered |
Related actions
Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.
| Action | Agency | Filed | Technique | Penalty | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SEC v. Trijya Vakil and Neeraj Visen (insider trading, 2026) | SEC | 2026-09-04 | Insider Trading | $109k | settled |
| CFTC v. Gabriel Perez (insider trading, 2026) | CFTC | 2026-08-28 | Insider Trading | $65k | judgment |
| SEC v. Gavin Wolfe and others (insider trading, 2026) | SEC | 2026-08-21 | Insider Trading | — | filed |
| SEC v. Jesse R. Mitchell (insider trading, 2026) | SEC | 2026-08-21 | Insider Trading | — | filed |
| SEBI v. Arun Kumar Somani and others (insider trading review, Indian Oil Corporation, 2026) | SEBI (India) | 2026-08-13 | Insider Trading | — | dismissed |
| SEC v. Benjamin Tesfaye (insider trading, 2026) | SEC | 2026-08-11 | Insider Trading | $18.7k | settled |