SEC v. Kristine L. Johnson, Troy A. Barnes and Work With Troy Barnes, Inc. (ponzi schemes, 2015)
Settled
Checked against the primary document on October 4, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, with sampled and disputed records read a second time. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.
In February 2015 the SEC charged Kristine L. Johnson, Troy A. Barnes and their company Work With Troy Barnes, Inc., doing business as The Achieve Community, with running a pyramid and Ponzi scheme that raised more than $3.8 million, and obtained an emergency asset freeze in Colorado. A final judgment on the defendants' consents, entered May 10, 2019, enjoins Johnson and Barnes and holds each jointly and severally liable for $3,427,937 in disgorgement, deemed satisfied by their criminal forfeiture orders.
The record
| Agency | SEC |
|---|---|
| Release number | LR-23198 |
| Date filed | 2015-02-12 |
| Date resolved | 2019-05-10 |
| Court | U.S. District Court, District of Colorado |
| Status | settled |
| Criminal parallel | Yes: criminal case referred to, outcome not stated in the document (Kristine Johnson and Troy Barnes (the judgment refers to a forfeiture order in the criminal case against Johnson but does not say how far the case went)), U.S. District Court, Western District of North Carolina |
| Bars imposed | conduct-based injunction |
| Defendants | Kristine L. Johnson ; Troy A. Barnes ; Work With Troy Barnes, Inc. ; Achieve International, LLC (relief defendant) |
| Cited as charged or alleged | Exchange Act s.10(b) and Rule 10b-5 ; Securities Act s.17(a) |
| Techniques | Ponzi schemes |
What was ordered
- Civil penalty
- —
- Disgorgement
- $3.4m
- Prejudgment interest
- —
- Total relief
- $3.4m
- Alleged gain
- —
What is alleged to have happened
The complaint, filed February 12, 2015 in Denver and unsealed shortly after, alleges that since April 2014 the defendants sold $50 positions in a "matrix" promising $400 payouts within months, supposedly generated by a "triple algorithm", while having no real business and paying earlier investors from later investors' funds. Achieve International, LLC is a relief defendant.
The record carried a court of Connecticut, which is a mis-parse of the case number, and a defendant list in which three parties were run together.
This library tags the matter as ponzi schemes because the document describes payments to earlier participants made from later participants' money. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.
Outcome. The District of Colorado's Final Judgment (Document 86, entered May 10, 2019, following Judge Blackburn's May 6 order) is captioned against Johnson and Barnes only. It permanently enjoins each from violating Exchange Act section 10(b), Rule 10b-5 and Securities Act section 17(a), and makes each liable, jointly and severally, for disgorgement of $3,427,937, which is deemed satisfied by the forfeiture orders in their parallel criminal cases in the Western District of North Carolina. It incorporates the defendants' consents, treats the complaint's allegations as admitted only for bankruptcy-discharge purposes, and says the case will be closed. No civil penalty or prejudgment interest appears. The judgment does not mention the company Work With Troy Barnes, Inc. or the relief defendant Achieve International, LLC, so this outcome is recorded for the two individuals only and the others were not checked. The judgment does not state the criminal sentences, so none is stored.
What technique is this, and how does it work?
This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.
- Ponzi schemes — see how it works, what statute it engages, and every other action tagged the same way.
Timeline
- 2015-02-18 Litigation release published
- 2019-05-10 Final judgment entered against Johnson and Barnes (D. Colo.)
Primary documents
Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.
Related actions
Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.
| Action | Agency | Filed | Technique | Penalty | Status |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SEC v. Mark D. Hanf and Hoai-Nam Chu Phan (ponzi schemes, 2026) | SEC | 2026-09-04 | Ponzi Schemes | — | settled |
| SEC v. Leor Moshe, Jacob Goldman, Isaac Odes (ponzi schemes, 2026) | SEC | 2026-08-13 | Ponzi Schemes | — | filed |
| CFTC v. Goliath Ventures, Inc. and Christopher Delgado (ponzi schemes, 2026) | CFTC | 2026-08-11 | Ponzi Schemes | — | filed |
| SEC v. Goliath Ventures, Inc. and Christopher A. Delgado (ponzi schemes, 2026) | SEC | 2026-08-11 | Ponzi Schemes | — | filed |
| SEC v. Aras Investment Business Group S.A.P.I. de C.V. and others (ponzi schemes, 2026) | SEC | 2026-07-24 | Ponzi Schemes | $449k | judgment |
| CFTC v. Trevor L. Vernon and Argent Capital Management LLC (ponzi schemes, 2026) | CFTC | 2026-07-07 | Ponzi Schemes | — | filed |