Market Manipulation. Search

SEC v. Joel Castellanos (ponzi schemes, 2026)

Judgment entered

Checked against the primary document on October 2, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, with sampled and disputed records read a second time. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (sec-joel-castellanos-ponzi-schemes-2026) by email

In February 2026 the SEC filed a settled action against Joel Castellanos, who with about 42 sales agents sold at least $25.2 million of MJ Capital Funding securities without registering as a broker. He consented to $46,861.94 of disgorgement and $13,084.42 of interest, deemed satisfied by receiver collections, and a $150,000 penalty.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEC
Release number LR-26490
Date filed 2026-02-24
Date resolved 2026-02-24
Court U.S. District Court, Southern District of Florida
Status judgment
Criminal parallel Yes: criminal case referred to, outcome not stated in the document (Johanna Michely Garcia (a forfeiture order was entered against her; no plea or sentence stated)), S.D. Fla.
Bars imposed officer-and-director bar
Defendants Joel Castellanos (individual)
Cited as charged or alleged Exchange Act s.15(a) ; Securities Act s.5 (statutes and rules cited in the document; not a finding that they were violated)
Techniques Ponzi schemes

What was ordered

Civil penalty
$150k
Disgorgement
$46.9k
Prejudgment interest
$13.1k
Total relief
$210k
Alleged gain
—

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

MJ Capital, MJ Taxes and Johanna Garcia were charged in 2021 with a fraudulent offering and Ponzi scheme of about $196 million. Castellanos is charged only with the registration provisions, Sections 5(a) and 5(c) of the Securities Act and Section 15(a)(1) of the Exchange Act; he earned commissions from at least 1,222 investors.

The record carried the disgorgement but omitted the interest and the $150,000 penalty.

This library tags the matter as ponzi schemes because the document describes money from later investors being used to pay earlier ones. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2026-02-24 Litigation release published

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is a work of the United States government and is not subject to copyright. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Mark D. Hanf and Hoai-Nam Chu Phan (ponzi schemes, 2026) SEC 2026-09-04 Ponzi Schemes — settled
SEC v. Leor Moshe, Jacob Goldman, Isaac Odes (ponzi schemes, 2026) SEC 2026-08-13 Ponzi Schemes — filed
CFTC v. Goliath Ventures, Inc. and Christopher Delgado (ponzi schemes, 2026) CFTC 2026-08-11 Ponzi Schemes — filed
SEC v. Goliath Ventures, Inc. and Christopher A. Delgado (ponzi schemes, 2026) SEC 2026-08-11 Ponzi Schemes — filed
SEC v. Aras Investment Business Group S.A.P.I. de C.V. and others (ponzi schemes, 2026) SEC 2026-07-24 Ponzi Schemes $449k judgment
CFTC v. Trevor L. Vernon and Argent Capital Management LLC (ponzi schemes, 2026) CFTC 2026-07-07 Ponzi Schemes — filed

Record added September 10, 2026. submit a correction.