Market Manipulation. Search

SEC v. Amit Bhardwaj, et al. (insider trading, 2022)

Settled

Checked against the primary document on October 4, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, with sampled and disputed records read a second time. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (sec-amit-bhardwaj-et-al-insider-trading-2022) by email

In July 2022 the SEC charged Lumentum security chief Amit Bhardwaj and four friends with insider trading ahead of two Lumentum acquisition announcements. All five consented to final judgments, the last on September 24, 2024, with disgorgement totalling about $5.28 million that was deemed satisfied by criminal forfeiture orders. All five had pleaded guilty in parallel criminal cases.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEC
Release number LR-25450
Date filed 2022-07-26
Date resolved 2024-09-24
Status settled
Criminal parallel Yes: guilty plea (Amit Bhardwaj, Srinivasa Kakkera, Abbas Saeedi, Dhirenkumar Patel and Ramesh Chitor), U.S. District Court, Southern District of New York
Bars imposed officer-and-director bar (permanent: Bhardwaj, Saeedi), officer-and-director bar (7.5 years: Kakkera, Patel, Chitor)
Defendants Amit Bhardwaj (individual) ; Dhirenkumar Patel (individual) ; Srinivasa Kakkera (individual) ; Abbas Saeedi (individual) ; Ramesh Chitor (individual)
Cited as charged or alleged Exchange Act s.10(b) and Rule 10b-5 (statutes and rules cited in the document; not a finding that they were violated)
Techniques Insider trading

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
$5.3m
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
$5.3m
Alleged gain
—

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

The Securities and Exchange Commission announced the complaint on July 26, 2022 as litigation release 25450; it was filed on July 25 in the Southern District of New York.

The complaint alleges Bhardwaj learned of the planned acquisitions through his job, bought Coherent securities before the January 2021 announcement and tipped Dhirenkumar Patel on the understanding that gains would be shared, and that the group later traded ahead of the NeoPhotonics deal.

No outcome is reported. The earlier record named 'Amit Bhardwaj, et al.' with an unknown status.

Outcome. Two SEC releases describe the end of the case against all five named defendants. LR-26027 (June 13, 2024) reports consent final judgments against Bhardwaj, Srinivasa Kakkera and Abbas Saeedi, and LR-26131 (September 26, 2024) reports consent final judgments entered September 24, 2024 against Dhirenkumar Patel and Ramesh Chitor. Each is permanently enjoined under Section 10(b) and Rule 10b-5 and barred as an officer or director of public companies: permanently for Bhardwaj and Saeedi, and for seven and a half years for Kakkera, Patel and Chitor. The disgorgement amounts are $462,598.91 (Bhardwaj), $2,453,687.99 (Kakkera), $691,104.73 (Saeedi), $423,074 (Patel) and $1,244,801 (Chitor), each with prejudgment interest whose payment, like the disgorgement, was deemed satisfied by forfeiture orders in the criminal cases. The recorded disgorgement is the sum of the five figures; the interest amounts are not stated in the releases.

The SEC also voluntarily dismissed its unjust-enrichment claims against four relief defendants. The releases say all five defendants pleaded guilty in the parallel criminal actions; they do not give sentences. The consent judgments were entered without findings, so the original trading allegations were not adjudicated in the civil case.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2022-07-26 Litigation release published
  2. 2024-06-13 Consent final judgments entered against Bhardwaj, Kakkera and Saeedi
  3. 2024-09-24 Consent final judgments entered against Patel and Chitor

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is a work of the United States government and is not subject to copyright. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Same matter

The library links these 2 records because they appear to concern one matter: the same lead defendant, an overlapping technique tag and close filing dates, or a shared court docket or a release that cites the other. Records are listed by date filed.

Date filed Agency Record Status
2022-07-26 SEC SEC v. Amit Bhardwaj, et al. (insider trading, 2022)(this record) Settled
2024-09-26 SEC SEC v. Bhardwaj et al. (insider trading, 2024) Judgment entered

This grouping is the library's, made by matching names, techniques, dates and citations when the site is built. It is not the regulator's or a court's determination that the records are one case, and it errs towards missing a link rather than making a false one.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Trijya Vakil and Neeraj Visen (insider trading, 2026) SEC 2026-09-04 Insider Trading $109k settled
CFTC v. Gabriel Perez (insider trading, 2026) CFTC 2026-08-28 Insider Trading $65k judgment
SEC v. Gavin Wolfe and others (insider trading, 2026) SEC 2026-08-21 Insider Trading — filed
SEC v. Jesse R. Mitchell (insider trading, 2026) SEC 2026-08-21 Insider Trading — filed
SEBI v. Arun Kumar Somani and others (insider trading review, Indian Oil Corporation, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-13 Insider Trading — dismissed
SEC v. Benjamin Tesfaye (insider trading, 2026) SEC 2026-08-11 Insider Trading $18.7k settled

Record added September 10, 2026. submit a correction.