Market Manipulation. Search

FCA v. Mark Stevenson (price manipulation, 2014)

Settled

Checked against the primary document on October 2, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, with sampled and disputed records read a second time. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (fca-mark-stevenson-price-manipulation-2014) by email

In 2014, the Financial Conduct Authority settled an action with Mark Stevenson, alleging conduct this library classifies as price manipulation. The release does not state a monetary figure that we were able to extract.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency FCA
Date filed 2014-03-20
Date resolved 2014-03-20
Status settled
Criminal parallel No
Defendants Mark Stevenson (individual)
Cited as charged or alleged FSMA 2000 s.118 (market abuse) (statutes and rules cited in the document; not a finding that they were violated)
Techniques Price manipulation

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
—
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
—
Alleged gain
—
Penalty as published
£663k

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars. This regulator states penalties in GBP. The figure is recorded as published and is not converted, so it does not appear in the USD totals or medians used elsewhere on this site.

What is alleged to have happened

the Financial Conduct Authority announced this matter on March 20, 2014. The respondents named are Mark Stevenson (1 individual, 0 entities).

This library tags the matter as price manipulation, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2014-03-20 FCA final notice

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
CFTC v. George Santos (price manipulation, 2026) CFTC 2026-07-31 Price Manipulation $17.5k settled
Victorian man sentenced in market manipulation case (ASIC, 2025) ASIC 2025-12-12 Price Manipulation , Wash Trading — judgment
ASIC v. Delta Power & Energy (Vales Point) Pty Ltd (price manipulation, 2025) ASIC 2025-06-30 Price Manipulation , Marking The Close — filed
Victorian man charged over alleged market manipulation (ASIC, 2025) ASIC 2025-03-14 Price Manipulation , Wash Trading — judgment
SEC v. Marco Babini, et al. (price manipulation, 2024) SEC 2024-09-27 Price Manipulation — judgment
CFTC v. TOTSA TotalEnergies Trading SA (price manipulation, 2024) CFTC 2024-08-27 Price Manipulation $48m settled

Record added September 10, 2026. submit a correction.