Market Manipulation. Search

ASIC v. COFCO International Australia Pty Ltd (marking the close, 2024)

Status unknown

Machine-extracted, pending human review. The structured fields on this page were parsed automatically from the regulator's own release, linked below. Read the primary document before relying on any figure here, and tell us if something is wrong.

In 2024, the Australian Securities and Investments Commission brought an action against COFCO International Australia Pty Ltd, alleging conduct this library classifies as marking the close and price manipulation. The release does not state a monetary figure that we were able to extract.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency ASIC
Release number 24-163MR
Date filed 2024-07-24
Status unknown
Asset class futures
Criminal parallel No
Defendants COFCO International Australia Pty Ltd (entity)
Techniques Marking the close , Price manipulation

What was ordered

Civil penalty
Disgorgement
Prejudgment interest
Total relief
Alleged gain

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

the Australian Securities and Investments Commission announced this matter on July 24, 2024 as release 24-163MR. The respondents named are COFCO International Australia Pty Ltd (0 individuals, 1 entity).

This library tags the matter as marking the close and price manipulation, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

The conduct is recorded against futures.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with 2 techniques in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2024-07-24 ASIC media release

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Lai Guanglin (Alan) (marking the close, 2018) SEC 2018-12-10 Marking The Close , Price Manipulation settled
CFTC v. George Santos (price manipulation, 2026) CFTC 2026-07-31 Price Manipulation $35k judgment
SEC v. Canaccord Genuity LLC (marking the close, 2026) SEC 2026-03-06 Marking The Close , Marking The Open +2 settled
Victorian man sentenced in market manipulation case (ASIC, 2025) ASIC 2025-12-12 Insider Trading , Price Manipulation +1 judgment
ASIC v. Delta Power (price manipulation, 2025) ASIC 2025-06-30 Price Manipulation unknown
Victorian man charged over alleged market manipulation (ASIC, 2025) ASIC 2025-03-14 Price Manipulation , Wash Trading filed

Record added September 9, 2026. submit a correction.