Market Manipulation. Search

ASIC v. Avrohom Kimelman (insider trading, 2020)

Judgment entered

Checked against the primary document on October 4, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, with sampled and disputed records read a second time. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (asic-avrohom-kimelman-insider-trading-2020) by email

ASIC reported in November 2021 that Avrohom Kimelman, a former Quantum Resources director, was convicted of insider trading and market manipulation in the County Court of Victoria and sentenced to 18 months, released on a recognizance and two-year good behaviour undertaking.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency ASIC
Release number 20-145MR
Date filed 2020-06-23
Date resolved 2021-11-09
Status judgment
Criminal parallel Yes: sentenced (Kimelman), County Court of Victoria
Sentence 1y 6m
Defendants Avrohom Kimelman (individual)
Cited as charged or alleged Corporations Act s.1043A (statutes and rules cited in the document; not a finding that they were violated)
Techniques Insider trading

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
—
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
—
Alleged gain
—

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

the Australian Securities and Investments Commission announced this matter on June 23, 2020 as release 20-145MR. The respondents named are Avrohom Kimelman (1 individual, 0 entities).

This library tags the matter as insider trading, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

Outcome. ASIC release 21-297MR (published November 9, 2021) reports that Kimelman, who pleaded guilty on 30 June 2021, was sentenced to 18 months imprisonment, released immediately on a $5,000 recognizance with a two-year good behaviour undertaking. It says he conspired to manipulate Quantum's share price in November 2015 and procured the purchase of 1,990,963 shares in 2016 while holding inside information, and that the judge would otherwise have imposed two years and two months. The charge covered both manipulation and insider trading offences; the original insider trading charge is part of that. The sentencing date is not stated, so the release date is used.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2020-06-23 ASIC media release
  2. 2021-11-09 ASIC reports Kimelman sentenced to 18 months, released on recognizance

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Same matter

The library links these 2 records because they appear to concern one matter: the same lead defendant, an overlapping technique tag and close filing dates, or a shared court docket or a release that cites the other. Records are listed by date filed.

Date filed Agency Record Status
2020-06-23 ASIC ASIC v. Avrohom Kimelman (insider trading, 2020)(this record) Judgment entered
2021-07-01 ASIC ASIC v. Avrohom Kimelman (insider trading, 2021) Judgment entered

This grouping is the library's, made by matching names, techniques, dates and citations when the site is built. It is not the regulator's or a court's determination that the records are one case, and it errs towards missing a link rather than making a false one.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Trijya Vakil and Neeraj Visen (insider trading, 2026) SEC 2026-09-04 Insider Trading $109k settled
CFTC v. Gabriel Perez (insider trading, 2026) CFTC 2026-08-28 Insider Trading $65k judgment
SEC v. Gavin Wolfe and others (insider trading, 2026) SEC 2026-08-21 Insider Trading — filed
SEC v. Jesse R. Mitchell (insider trading, 2026) SEC 2026-08-21 Insider Trading — filed
SEBI v. Arun Kumar Somani and others (insider trading review, Indian Oil Corporation, 2026) SEBI (India) 2026-08-13 Insider Trading — dismissed
SEC v. Benjamin Tesfaye (insider trading, 2026) SEC 2026-08-11 Insider Trading $18.7k settled

Record added September 10, 2026. submit a correction.