Market Manipulation. Search

Victorian man charged over alleged market manipulation (ASIC, 2025)

Judgment entered

Checked against the primary document on October 4, 2026. The library's summary, tags and figures for this record were compared with the regulator's own document by an AI model (Claude) following written instructions, with sampled and disputed records read a second time. No lawyer has reviewed them. A checked record can still contain errors, and checked does not mean endorsed. See how we check records or report a correction.

Report an error in this record (asic-25-039mr-price-manipulation-2025) by email

In March 2025 ASIC announced that Behzad Eghrari of Vermont South, Victoria, was charged with three offences over wash trades in Investigator Resources, Silver Mines and Lumos Diagnostics shares. He pleaded guilty and, in December 2025, the County Court of Victoria sentenced him to 15 months' imprisonment, released immediately on a two-year good behaviour recognisance.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency ASIC
Release number 25-039MR
Date filed 2025-03-14
Date resolved 2025-12-11
Status judgment
Criminal parallel Yes: sentenced (Mr Eghrari (15 months' imprisonment, released on a recognisance)), County Court of Victoria, 2025-12-11
Sentence 1y 3m
Defendants Behzad Eghrari (individual)
Cited as charged or alleged Corporations Act s.1041B (statutes and rules cited in the document; not a finding that they were violated)
Techniques Price manipulation , Wash trading

What was ordered

Civil penalty
—
Disgorgement
—
Prejudgment interest
—
Total relief
—
Alleged gain
—

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

The Australian Securities and Investments Commission announced this matter on March 14, 2025 as release 25-039MR. The respondents named are Behzad Eghrari (1 individual, 0 entities).

The release says the charges concern buy and sell orders in the same financial product with no change in beneficial ownership, in three ASX-listed companies. The Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions is prosecuting; the maximum penalty for the offences is 15 years' imprisonment.

This library tags the matter as price manipulation and wash trading, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

Outcome. ASIC release 25-302MR (dated December 12, 2025) says Eghrari was sentenced in the County Court of Victoria the day before, so we record December 11, 2025. He received a total of 15 months' imprisonment for trading about $7.14 million of ASX securities between his own brokerage accounts, and was released at once on entering a recognisance to be of good behaviour for two years. The release says he made 679 trades across four accounts between August 3, 2022 and January 23, 2024, at times making up as much as 73 percent of daily volume, and that he had pleaded guilty. This is a criminal sentence; the release does not state a fine in this case.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with 2 techniques in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2025-03-14 ASIC media release
  2. 2025-12-11 Eghrari sentenced in the County Court of Victoria (ASIC release 25-302MR)

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Same matter

The library links these 2 records because they appear to concern one matter: the same lead defendant, an overlapping technique tag and close filing dates, or a shared court docket or a release that cites the other. Records are listed by date filed.

Date filed Agency Record Status
2025-03-14 ASIC Victorian man charged over alleged market manipulation (ASIC, 2025)(this record) Judgment entered
2025-12-12 ASIC Victorian man sentenced in market manipulation case (ASIC, 2025) Judgment entered

This grouping is the library's, made by matching names, techniques, dates and citations when the site is built. It is not the regulator's or a court's determination that the records are one case, and it errs towards missing a link rather than making a false one.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEBI v. Usha Devi and others (price and volume manipulation of DU Digital Technologies, 2025) SEBI (India) 2025-12-31 Price Manipulation , Matched Orders +1 — judgment
Victorian man sentenced in market manipulation case (ASIC, 2025) ASIC 2025-12-12 Price Manipulation , Wash Trading — judgment
SEBI v. Indra Pratap Gajraj Singh (Octant Interactive Technologies circular trading, remand dismissal, 2025) SEBI (India) 2025-11-27 Wash Trading , Price Manipulation — dismissed
SEBI v. Chandrima Mercantiles Limited and others (price and volume manipulation of Quasar India, 2025) SEBI (India) 2025-10-31 Price Manipulation , Wash Trading — judgment
SEBI v. Sureshkumar Parmar and others (Premier Synthetics Limited circular trades, 2024) SEBI (India) 2024-09-30 Wash Trading , Price Manipulation — judgment
SEBI v. 768 applicants (ISO Settlement Scheme 2024, reversal trades in BSE stock options) SEBI (India) 2024-08-19 Wash Trading , Price Manipulation — settled

Record added September 10, 2026. submit a correction.