Market Manipulation. Search

SEC v. Nayeem Choudhury and Dream Venture Capital Group, LLC (paid stock promotion, 2023)

Status unknown

Machine-extracted, pending human review. The structured fields on this page were parsed automatically from the regulator's own release, linked below. Read the primary document before relying on any figure here, and tell us if something is wrong.

In 2023, the Securities and Exchange Commission brought an action against Nayeem Choudhury and Dream Venture Capital Group, LLC, alleging conduct this library classifies as paid stock promotion and ponzi schemes. The release does not state a monetary figure that we were able to extract.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency SEC
Release number LR-25774
Date filed 2023-07-12
Court U.S. District Court, Middle District of North Carolina
Status unknown
Criminal parallel No
Bars imposed conduct-based injunction
Defendants Nayeem Choudhury (individual) ; Dream Venture Capital Group, LLC (entity)
Techniques Paid stock promotion , Ponzi schemes

What was ordered

Civil penalty
Disgorgement
Prejudgment interest
Total relief
Alleged gain

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

the Securities and Exchange Commission announced this matter on July 12, 2023 as release LR-25774. The respondents named are Nayeem Choudhury and Dream Venture Capital Group, LLC (1 individual, 1 entity). The action was brought in the U.S. District Court, Middle District of North Carolina.

This library tags the matter as paid stock promotion and ponzi schemes, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

Non-monetary relief recorded: conduct-based injunction.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with 2 techniques in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2023-07-12 Litigation release published

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is a work of the United States government and is not subject to copyright. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Diana Mae Fernandez (paid stock promotion, 2025) SEC 2025-07-11 Paid Stock Promotion , Ponzi Schemes judgment
SEC v. Prosperity, Investments & Lending, LLC (paid stock promotion, 2024) SEC 2024-01-18 Paid Stock Promotion , Ponzi Schemes settled
SEC v. Stephen L. Bailey, Sapphire Exploration LLC, and Harris Exploration Inc. (paid stock promotion, 2023) SEC 2023-09-25 Paid Stock Promotion , Ponzi Schemes filed
SEC v. Brent Seaman, Accanito Holdings, LLC, and others (paid stock promotion, 2023) SEC 2023-07-28 Paid Stock Promotion , Ponzi Schemes judgment
SEC v. BNZ One Capital, LLC, et al. (paid stock promotion, 2021) SEC 2021-10-29 Paid Stock Promotion , Ponzi Schemes filed
SEC v. Frantz Simeon and First Black Enterprises, Inc. (paid stock promotion, 2021) SEC 2021-09-23 Paid Stock Promotion , Ponzi Schemes unknown

Record added September 8, 2026. submit a correction.