Market Manipulation. Search

OSC v. Dino Paolucci (paid stock promotion, 2020)

Status unknown

Machine-extracted, pending human review. The structured fields on this page were parsed automatically from the regulator's own release, linked below. Read the primary document before relying on any figure here, and tell us if something is wrong.

In 2020, the regulator brought an action against Dino Paolucci, alleging conduct this library classifies as paid stock promotion and pump and dump. The release does not state a monetary figure that we were able to extract. A parallel criminal matter is referenced in the release.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency OSC
Release number 2020-25
Date filed 2020-08-05
Date resolved 2020-12-21
Court Capital Markets Tribunal (Ontario)
Status unknown
Asset class equities
Venue OTC
Criminal parallel Yes
Defendants Dino Paolucci (individual)
Techniques Paid stock promotion , Pump and dump

What was ordered

Civil penalty
Disgorgement
Prejudgment interest
Total relief
Alleged gain

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

the regulator announced this matter on August 5, 2020 as release 2020-25. The respondents named are Dino Paolucci (1 individual, 0 entities). The action was brought in the Capital Markets Tribunal (Ontario).

This library tags the matter as paid stock promotion and pump and dump, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

The conduct is recorded against equities, with OTC identified in the release.

The release references a parallel criminal proceeding. Where a criminal case exists, the civil and criminal outcomes are recorded separately, because they resolve on different standards of proof.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with 2 techniques in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2020-08-04 Statement of Allegations
  2. 2020-08-05 Notice of Hearing
  3. 2020-12-21 Reasons and Decision
  4. 2020-12-21 Reasons and Decision

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. George John Drazenovic (paid stock promotion, 2025) SEC 2025-12-19 Paid Stock Promotion , Pump And Dump judgment
SEC v. Jonathan Farber, Aarif Jamani, Brian Keasberry (paid stock promotion, 2024) SEC 2024-01-16 Paid Stock Promotion , Pump And Dump filed
CFTC v. Jimmy Gale Watson (paid stock promotion, 2022) CFTC 2022-07-18 Paid Stock Promotion , Pump And Dump $290k judgment
SEC v. Global Wholehealth Partners Corp., Charles Strongo, Brian M. Volmer, Joshua Yafa, Jamie M. Yafa, and Empire Associates, Inc. (paid stock promotion, 2022) SEC 2022-02-17 Paid Stock Promotion , Pump And Dump filed
SEC v. Charlie Abujudeh (paid stock promotion, 2021) SEC 2021-07-22 Paid Stock Promotion , Pump And Dump unknown
CFTC v. Two Individuals (paid stock promotion, 2021) CFTC 2021-03-05 Paid Stock Promotion , Pump And Dump filed

Record added September 9, 2026. submit a correction.