Market Manipulation. Search

FCA v. Travis Lloyd Klein (cash vs derivatives schemes, 2024)

Status unknown

Machine-extracted, pending human review. The structured fields on this page were parsed automatically from the regulator's own release, linked below. Read the primary document before relying on any figure here, and tell us if something is wrong.

In 2024, the Financial Conduct Authority brought an action against Travis Lloyd Klein, alleging conduct this library classifies as cash vs derivatives schemes and wash trading. The release does not state a monetary figure that we were able to extract.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency FCA
Date filed 2024-11-18
Date resolved 2024-11-18
Status unknown
Asset class commodities
Criminal parallel No
Defendants Travis Lloyd Klein (individual)
Techniques Cash versus derivatives schemes , Wash trading

What was ordered

Civil penalty
Disgorgement
Prejudgment interest
Total relief
Alleged gain
Penalty as published
£104k

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars. This regulator states penalties in GBP. The figure is recorded as published and is not converted, so it does not appear in the USD totals or medians used elsewhere on this site.

What is alleged to have happened

the Financial Conduct Authority announced this matter on November 18, 2024. The respondents named are Travis Lloyd Klein (1 individual, 0 entities).

This library tags the matter as cash vs derivatives schemes and wash trading, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

The conduct is recorded against commodities.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with 2 techniques in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2024-11-18 FCA final notice

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is published by the issuing regulator under its own terms. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
CFTC v. unnamed respondents (cash vs derivatives schemes, 2022) CFTC 2022-10-20 Cash Vs Derivatives Schemes , Exchange Wash Trading +4 $41m judgment
FCA v. Neil Danziger (benchmark submission rigging, 2018) FCA 2018-01-08 Benchmark Submission Rigging , Cash Vs Derivatives Schemes +1 unknown
FCA v. Jeremy Kraft (benchmark submission rigging, 2015) FCA 2015-01-22 Benchmark Submission Rigging , Cash Vs Derivatives Schemes +2 settled
FCA v. The Royal Bank of Scotland plc (benchmark submission rigging, 2013) FCA 2013-02-06 Benchmark Submission Rigging , Cash Vs Derivatives Schemes +2 settled
SEC v. Gotbit Consulting LLC a/k/a Gotbit Hedge Fund and Fedor Kedrov (wash trading, 2026) SEC 2026-08-03 Wash Trading judgment
SEC v. Canaccord Genuity LLC (marking the close, 2026) SEC 2026-03-06 Marking The Close , Marking The Open +2 settled

Record added September 9, 2026. submit a correction.