Market Manipulation. Search

CFTC v. Puerto Rico Resident and His Firm (wash trading, 2021)

Settled

Machine-extracted, pending human review. The structured fields on this page were parsed automatically from the regulator's own release, linked below. Read the primary document before relying on any figure here, and tell us if something is wrong.

In 2021, the Commodity Futures Trading Commission settled an action with Puerto Rico Resident and His Firm, alleging conduct this library classifies as wash trading. The release does not state a monetary figure that we were able to extract.

The record

Structured fields for this action, as recorded in our case library.
Agency CFTC
Release number 8468-21
Date filed 2021-12-10
Date resolved 2021-12-10
Court U.S. District Court, Southern District of Texas
Status settled
Asset class commodities, futures
Criminal parallel No
Bars imposed trading ban
Defendants Puerto Rico Resident (individual) ; His Firm (individual)
Techniques Wash trading

What was ordered

Civil penalty
Disgorgement
Prejudgment interest
Total relief
Alleged gain
$1.5m

A dash means the release did not state a figure we could extract, not that the figure is zero. Penalty and disgorgement are stored separately so aggregates across the library do not double-count the same dollars.

What is alleged to have happened

the Commodity Futures Trading Commission announced this matter on December 10, 2021 as release 8468-21. The respondents named are Puerto Rico Resident and His Firm (2 individuals, 0 entities). The action was brought in the U.S. District Court, Southern District of Texas.

This library tags the matter as wash trading, based on the conduct the regulator describes. Each tag links to a page explaining how that technique works, what statute it engages, and what penalties comparable actions have attracted. The tagging is ours, not the regulator's: agencies charge statutory provisions, not technique names.

The conduct is recorded against commodities and futures.

Non-monetary relief recorded: trading ban.

For the regulator's own account of the facts, read the primary document linked above. This page deliberately summarises the structured record rather than reproducing the release.

What technique is this, and how does it work?

This action is tagged with one technique in our taxonomy. The tagging is ours: regulators charge statutory provisions, not technique names, so the mapping is an editorial judgement described in our editorial policy.

Timeline

  1. 2021-12-10 CFTC release published

Primary documents

Everything on this page derives from the documents below. Where our summary and the primary document disagree, the primary document is right.

The linked release is a work of the United States government and is not subject to copyright. Our summary and narrative above are our own writing.

Other actions in the library sharing at least one technique tag with this one.

Action Agency Filed Technique Penalty Status
SEC v. Gotbit Consulting LLC a/k/a Gotbit Hedge Fund and Fedor Kedrov (wash trading, 2026) SEC 2026-08-03 Wash Trading judgment
SEC v. Canaccord Genuity LLC (marking the close, 2026) SEC 2026-03-06 Marking The Close , Marking The Open +2 settled
SEC v. Justin Sun, Tron Foundation Limited, BitTorrent Foundation Ltd., Rainberry, Inc., and DeAndre Cortez Way (paid stock promotion, 2026) SEC 2026-03-05 Paid Stock Promotion , Wash Trading judgment
CFTC v. unnamed respondents (insider trading, 2026) CFTC 2026-02-25 Insider Trading , Wash Trading settled
CFTC v. Gregg Smith (spoofing, 2026) CFTC 2026-01-16 Spoofing , Wash Trading $200k judgment
CFTC v. Shinhan Securities Co. Ltd. (wash trading, 2025) CFTC 2025-09-17 Wash Trading $213k judgment

Record added September 8, 2026. submit a correction.